Traditional Administration of Igbogbo Kingdom

According to the tradition, early settlers in what today known as Igbogbo Kingdom were More, Mokun, Itun-Nla and Abosan settlers. Thereafter these early settlers, there were other wave of migrants that also settled in Igbogbo.

The history of Obaship in Igbogbo is as old as the town itself and according to the oral tradition, the traditional administration of the ancient town was administered by the Elegures and later by the Oloja of Igbogbo.

Several Elegures were said to have ruled Igbogbo at different times before 1900 and the first Oloja (which was later changed to Oba) was Oba Kashimawo.The title changed to Obaship during the reign of Oba Kashimawo whose reign started before 1900 and ended in 1905.

Other Obas that reigned in Igbogbo before the present Adeboruwa (HRM Oba (Barr.) SemiudeenOrimadegunKasali, Emu-Goriade I) were:

Oba Osho-Ojuba                              1905-1931

Oba Banjoko                                      1931-1933

Oba Banmosu                                    1933-1939

Oba Festus MolajaOgunlewe     1940-1974

Oba Joseph OmodeinwajayeOdugbose 1975-1977

Oba Dr Johnson OlatunjiFatola   1979-2016.


Kingmakers In Igbogbo

The Igbogbo Kingmakers are:

The Olisa, who is the Prime Minister and the head of the Council of Kingmakers. The present occupant of the position is High Chief AdebolaSholanke

The Aro (the position is currently vacant)

The Odofin, the position is being presently occupied by High Chief AladeDuduyemiTajudeenOnasanya

The Oluwo, the position is being presently occupied by High Chief AdenijiOlorunwo, and

The Apena, a position being presently occupied by High Chief Obafemi Obayomi.


Ruling Houses In Igbogbo

By virtue of the 1957 Oloja of IgbogboChieftiancy Declaration, four ruling houses are entitled to the Adeboruwa stool. They are:

Faduga Ruling house

Ayanfolu Ruling house

Rademo Ruling house and

Ijaolu Ruling house (in that order).

The present occupant of the Adeboruwa (Oloja) stool, HRM Oba SemiudeenOrimadegunKasali, Emu-Goriade I, emerged from the Ijaolu Ruling House of Igbogbo.


Important Festivals/Deities/Shrines In Igbogbo

OrisaOja (Market deity)

Alale (Owner of the land)

Ushendo (The Settler)

Agbala (Seat of Agemo)




Oro Meri

Yewa River







© Copyright - Adeboruwa of Igbogbo Kingdom